Facebook

Bulgaria
Home > Kyustendil

Kyustendil


Location: Kyustendil is situated in the western outskirts of the Osogovo Mountain. It is 90 km west of Sofia and 27 km from the the Bulgarian - Macedonian, Bulgarian - Serbian and Serbian - Macedonian borders. Kyustendil Lowland is extremely fertile and therefore Kustendil is called the “Fruit garden of Bulgaria”. The warm mineral springs are another natural wealth of the town which transforms it into a spa centre.

History: the fertile land and the warm mineral springs attract the Thracian tribes and the region was settled during the 5-4 century BC. During the 1st century, the Romans transform it into a well fortified town called Pautaliya. During the Medieval period the town bears the name Velbazhd and is included in the territories of Bulgaria by tzar Kaloyan (1197 - 1207). The town was ruled by the feudal ruler Konstantin Dragash during the period 1379 -1395. It gives it the name Kustendil – “Land of Constantine” After the ottoman invasion the town was assimilated by the conquerors. During the years under ottoman rule, numerous haidushki (partisan) squads are walking around the region. After the liberation in 1878 the town becomes tobacco and spa centre.

Sightseeing: The art gallery “Vladimir Dimitrov - maistora” (the Master) is of great interest for visitors. Its building is remarkable for its architecture and inside decoration.
The Historical museum in the city is from 1897. Each of its sections occupies different cultural- historical monuments: The Archeological section is in a building with extremely interesting architecture, build in 1575. “Revival period and national liberation struggles” are in the house of Ilio Voivoda, and “Ethnography” and “After liberation development” – in the Enfiedzhievata house, where during the Russian- Turkish war Russian soldiers were accommodated.

The Asclepiads of Pautaliya, build in 2-3rd century is architectural sightseeing from ancient time. This is a roman spa and temple for the god of medicine Asclepiad. The whole building was constructed on a land plot of 3300 square meters. Huge premises with heating system, water conducts and draining system, architectural fragments and etc can be seen in the complex. It is situated in the base of the present Chifte bath and “Ahmed Bay” mosque.
Other landmarks of the town are the Churches- St “George” (XII – XII century), St “Bogorpditsa” (1816) and “st. Dimitar” (1866), Pirkova tower (XVI – XVII century), the wall of hana Devehani (1606), the Doctor’s house, Prokopiva house, the Old School from 1849.

Vicinities: The lower slopes on the Osogovo mountain is situated in Hisarlaka park, which is incredible for relax and tourism among beautiful nature, fortress remains, hotels and many entertainment clubs.
The town itself is an entrance towards the beautiful and breathtaking Osogovo Mountain. 20 kilometers away from the town is the Tri Buki site, which offers 1 km long ski piste, serviced by a drag lift.

13 km in southeastern direction Nevestino village is situated. Nevestin most (bridge) build in 15 th century can be seen in the village. It is unique architectural achievement for its times.
39 km north of Kustendil is Zemen village, where Struma River created the marvelous Zemen canyon. The river has dug a beautiful rock creation, meanders and waterfalls, the highest of which is the Polish skakavishki waterfall- 50 meters high.

Wine & Dine: Kyustendil offers a well established resort base, as well as many hotels, which will correspond to all needs of the visitors. Numerous restaurants and night clubs offer entertainment and lively nightlife. The town is connected to the country road and railway net.

Photos from Kyustendil
News

2015/11/24

A Southeastern European conference called Go2Balkans begins in Sofia on November, 25 bringing more...

2015/11/12

The medieval capital of Bulgaria - Veliko Tarnovo is the third most affordable tourist destination more...

2015/07/27

Bulgaria was granted the approval of the World Tourism Organisation to create a World Tourism Museum more...